Occupation Frustration

Let’s discuss something, reader. Let’s discuss how the digital age seems to be falling short in allowing people to speak not only freely and publicly, but also rationally. See, there is a huge wealth of information on this here interweb, and yet no one seems to use it.

No, no, you're right. It totally makes sense for Americans to wear a mask made by a major Film company that lampoons a British Assassin. Oh, and we get it. V for Vendetta was good.

For example, I periodically will hop on to Occupywallstreet.org to check out their forums. It’s not because I have anything to comment on, it’s because I need to feel a little bit better about myself.

How does it make me feel better about myself? Thanks for asking, honored reader! The thing is, Occupy Wall Street isn’t a political movement, as far as I can tell.The problem is that they are moving (that’s hard to deny if you’re anywhere downtown in NYC), but they don’t have a political destination.

See? I told you we should take a hard right at fiscal policy!

Whenever I check the forum, I try and find the most recent post listing a proposed number of demands and you know what? They make no sense at all. Not even a little bit.

Here’s some examples:

1. Forming a lobbying group that supports the positions of the public. Good idea. So good it should have been in the Constitution. You know, like Congress or something. Oh wait…

2. Get rid of the Fed! Go back to the gold standard! If we don’t regulate the economy, we can go back to the good old days pre-1913. You know, like the Panic of 1907. And 1893. …and 1870. Yeah, nothing like a huge economic upheaval every 10-20 years…

3. …Trademarking Occupy Wall Street? Is that serious? I thought they were anti-capitalist, or anti-money or something? What happened to that? I guess credibility is lost on these people.

But this isn’t meant to be senseless bashing. It’s meant to make a point.

You simply cannot push a “political” movement, and then organize afterwards. The digital age, which makes this whole movement possible, also makes it impossible to give any direction once the thing starts moving. Rational ideas are drowned out by a flood of irrational ideas form the irrational masses. Occupy Wall Street claims to be the 99 percent, but who doesn’t want their leaders to be in the 99th percentile?

It’s the Web 2.0 Protest Paradox. Note that. If I was more ambitious, I’d trademark it.

I don’t mean to rag on the group as an idea. Seeing people organize on such a huge scale is truly impressive. I can see that, everyone can see that, people who can’t are just denying it. At the same time, I’m not even sure if I agree with the group, because I still don’t know exactly what it stands for!

Anyone can run for office on a platform of economic progress, but those words don’t mean anything.

Leave a Reply

